SME Logo

About SME

Awards & Recognition


SME International Awards & Recognition Committee

The SME International Awards & Recognition Committee is responsible for administering SME's world-class awards and Fellows programs, which recognize individuals and companies for manufacturing excellence.

K. Scott Smith, PhD, FSME
University of North Carolina-Charlotte
Charlotte, N.C.
Charles D. Cox, FSME
President (Retired)
Southern Manufacturing Consultants
Henrico, N.C.

F. Garret Hendrix, PE
District Sales Manager
LAPP Group
Knoxville, Tenn.

Steven R. Schmid, PhD, PE
Associate Professor
University of Notre Dame
Notre Dame, Ind.
John W. Sutherland, PhD, FSME
Purdue University
West Lafayette, Ind.  
Ralph L. Resnick, FSME
President and Executive Director
National Center for Defense Manufacturing & Machining
Blairsville, Pa.
Founding Director
America Makes
Youngstown, Ohio

Questions about SME's International Awards & Recognition Committee and/or SME's awards? Email